Day 8 of My New Beginning

Well . . . I fell off the wagon after about Day 3.  Not much new there.  Ha.  HOWEVER, I did spend those days looking for a workout rotation and copying rotation calendars from The FIRM’s website.  I do not know how much longer they will continue making it available, so I am trying to get as many ‘tools’ as I can.

Today turned out to be Day 1 of The Firm’s Body Sculpting System 2.  It was either that or do the Multi-System Rotation.  Since I have not worked out to any of the videos with this system, I thought I would give it a try.  I am doing the Beginner-Level rotation.  Today’s eating has been pretty under control, too.

One of my sister’s took my mother to the doctor today.  Mom has been having issues walking due to her knees.  Her knees have issues due to the excess weight she carries and the sedentary life she lives.  She has known she has needed surgery for years.  She can no longer put it off.  However . . .

One of my sisters sent the following text, ” 1. Boned to bone contact and arthritis in knee.  2.  Weighs to much Must lose weight before surgery.  3.  Bmi of 40 must loose 50 pounds before surgery.  234 target we8ght.  4.  Cortisone shot recommended.  5.  Got to get weight off!”

Of those, we all knew 2, 3, and 5 were necessary.  Mom’s problem is going she does not like to push herself.  Not one little  bit.  I feel my mother wears her morbid obesity as a security blanket.  As long as she is fat, people will look right through or past her.  With the excess weight, people will not expect her to try as hard.

When she was at our house on Christmas Day, she was complaining about her knee hurting.  It irritated me to no end.  She has known for YEARS she needs the surgery.  Yet, she put it off, put it off, put it off and put it off.  She can no longer put it off.  I was extremely vocal about not feeling sorry for her.  I cannot.  She knew and yet did nothing about it.

I get being morbidly obese.  I honestly and truly do.  I understand having low- or no-self-esteem.  So many morbidly obese people suffer the same feelings:  shame, embarrassment and guilt.  I am well-versed in the negative self-talk and thought processes.  I battle it.  Every.  Single.  Day.  It is a continuous struggle.

My goal is to help her reach her 50 pound weight loss within six months.  In order to do that, I have to help her become educated.  She is going to be 70 this year.  I would like to have her around for at least another 20 years.  If it means I have to push her, I will.  I will NOT enable her sedentary lifestyle.  I WILL enable her ‘time-to-get-healthy’ lifestyle.  Even if it means I have to cook.  Lord knows I HATE to cook!

The nice thing about helping her is I will be helping myself.  I have at least 110 pounds to lose.  I wanted them gone by the time I turned 50.  Not going to happen.  My personal goal is to be almost at goal weight by 1 January 2017.  I’m going into my 50s fighting like the Marine I am!

Day 8 of My New Beginning is going to go down as a complete success!  🙂

Leave a Reply

