Day 19 – Part 2

Food is On-Point today.  According to the Rotation Calendar, today is a Rest Day.  I wanted to workout today and take tomorrow as a Rest Day instead; however, it did not quite work out the way I planned.

Before hitting the rack last night, I made a short list of things I wanted to get accomplished today:

  • Total Sculpt Plus Abs
  • Vacuum
  • Fold and Put laundry away
  • DE-CLUTTER home office

I was able to accomplish 2 1/2 out of the four items.  It took A LOT longer than expected to de-clutter my home office.  😮  It left very little time for the the remaining items.  Total Sculpt was a no-go almost from the start.  However, that is ok as today is officially a Rest Day.  The vacuuming was knocked out quickly.  I did manage to get the laundry folded and placed on my bed to be put away later.  Putting away is the missing half of the third item.  I’m good with it, though.

As I was de-cluttering my office, I started thinking about meal planning, menus and the various programs I have.  I know in order to get results, it is 80% diet and 20% exercise.  Exercising is no problem.  I almost always feel better once I am finished (or maybe it is just that I am relieved it is over!  LOL)

I struggle with the food.  I mean I REALLY struggle with the food.  I am a picky eater.  So, trying to follow any of the meal plans provided with the various workout systems I have is painfully difficult.  Seriously.  There are so many foods I cannot stand.  Here are a few:

  • Sweet potatoes/yams
  • Eggplant
  • Brussel sprouts
  • Avocado
  • Zucchini
  • Almost all fish
  • Any kind of Seafood
  • Olives
  • Watercress
  • Collard greens
  • Asparagus
  • Beets
  • Any kind of squash
  • Artichokes
  • Almost all meat

There are A LOT more.  Those are just the basics.  The problem with the list above?  It encompasses a lot of what the meal plans call for.  It is frustrating as hell to try and figure out what I can substitute or what I can actually eat of the foods I do like.

The next topic I was thinking about is Workout Systems.  I have almost every single one of the FIRM’s systems and eight of the Beachbody programs.  Both the FIRM and Beachbody systems and programs are really good.  My favorite system from the FIRM is the WAVE.  I had the best results from it.  My favorite from Beachbody is 21 Day Fix.  I had fairly good results with it as well.

What I love about the FIRM’s workouts are the warm-ups (except for FIRM Express and the Zip Trainer).  I do not feel rushed and I actually feel my muscles loosening. The cool downs are the same way.  In a way, I feel I get more out of them.

Beachbody workouts do not have the long warm-ups like the FIRM’s.  For me, my body needs way longer than just a two or three minute warm up.  I’m not sure if they assume most people will spend several minutes warming up on their own or not.  I buy the workouts to give me everything – warm-up, workout, and cool down.

Both franchises do not seem to show their modifiers as often as I feel they should.  Because I cannot do a lot of the high impact moves they do (not to mention the carpet can do a major number on me!), I want to see how the modifier is performing a move as she is performing it . . . Not three or four moves down the way.

So while doing all this thinking, I came to the decision I am going to continue with the FIRM’s Body Sculpting System II (well, at least until the first month rotation is complete) and follow the 21 Day Fix Eating Plan.  If I remember correctly, I lost almost four pounds during Week 1.  I love Autumn’s workouts . . . Except for the warm-ups and cool downs.  They need to be longer.  However, there is only so much working out you can cram in just 30 minutes!  Once the Body Sculpting System II rotation is up, I am going to switch it up to the Advanced Rotation for Body Sculpting System I.  It is my favorite system.

Another topic running through my brain-housing group is my desire to focus on inches lost rather than pounds lost.  When I got out of the Marine Corps, I swore I would never step on a scale again.  So for almost 19 years, I have only stepped on a scale a handful of times.  Scales are my worst nightmare.  They cause me panic attacks.  Each time I have gotten on the scale, I have guessed my weight within a few pounds.  Scales lie.  They do not take into consideration water retention, full stomach, bladder or bowels, shoes on or off, clothes on or off.

For me, inches lost is much more important.  I notice the inches faster – in my clothes and in my face – than I do when I lose pounds.  To me, it signals my body is rearranging things . . . again – but in a good way.  I am gaining muscle tone.  Various parts are firming up.  It is a tremendous feeling when I can actually buy smaller sized clothes.

Well, My Fitness Pal scolded me for not eating all of my calories today.  I fell 234 short.  That was not intentional.  However, it is what it is.  Tomorrow is a new day.  I will do better.

It Takes

7 thoughts on “Day 19 – Part 2

    • The scale still causes a panic attack for me . . . But it has gotten better this past year. Here is another light bulb going off moment for me: The scale is why I am dragging my feet on actually joining and attending Weight Watchers meetings. Embarrassment and Shame are two powerful emotions to work through. Baby steps . . . Baby steps! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I like weight watchers. I haven’t done it myself but my Mom does it and I know a lot of other people who were successful on it. You can do it on line now so you don’t have to go and weigh in for anyone. That’s how my Mom does it and it’s working. I am sorry you feel embarrassment and shame, I could say many words to convince you to think otherwise but you have to believe in yourself and convince yourself to put those feelings aside. Easier said than done, I know. Anyways, it’s easy to get addicted to weighing myself everyday, I had to quit! LOL! Like a drug or something. Oh, yes, and I believe in baby steps 🙂

        Like

      • I was paying for Weight Watchers Online but rarely ever used it! Part of it is because I am too lazy to record everything that crossed my lips. Another part is stepping on that blasted scale and logging the weight. Even in the privacy of my own home I suffer through minor panic attacks when I drag it out from where it is buried in the bathroom closet. :-\ You are correct, it is so much easier said than done! I’m a tad envious of your ability to step on the scale without hesitation! LOL

        Like

    • I despise the word ‘diet’! This, too, causes a panic attack – albeit not as severe as having to step on a scale. In my brain-housing group, I equate diet to deprivation. So, rather than call my meal plan/food plan a ‘diet’, I am calling it a lifestyle change. I am changing my lifestyle to become more healthy. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

