Day 23 – There is Beauty in the Rain

Rain water dripping over a window
Rain drops come in all shapes and sizes . . . Just as people do.

Today is Day 23 of My New Beginning and I am feeling kind of blue at the moment.  I know it is because I did not take the puppies for their walk today.  They are both really mopey.  When they are mopey, I feel terrible!  They absolutely love the outdoors.

Unfortunately, I did not wake up as early as I wanted to.  I managed to get a load of laundry folded and the vacuum ran (vacuuming seems to loosen up my back) before my workout.  In hind sight, I probably should have taken them for their walk first.  The rain started right around the time I had finished my workout.  I had not even noticed it was raining until I gathered my things together to head out the door.  We were all disappointed.

The negative:  no walk for the dogs and I.  The positive:  Vacuumed, laundry folded and workout complete.  I will put the clothes away later this evening.  Again, the positives outweigh the negatives!

There are so many people who view rainy and overcast days as dark and dreary.  Everything is wet.  The sun is hidden behind gloomy, gray clouds.  Moods tend to match the clouds.

I am not one of them.  Yes, the clouds are gray and plain.  Everything is wet.  For me, the rain represents cleansing and nourishment.  I find the rain peaceful and calming  It is like a soothing balm upon my soul.  If I could, I would just sit and listen to the rain for hours.

The beauty of rain, at least for me, is in the reminder to slow down.  It is like it is telling me I need to slow down, take a look around, breathe and enjoy life.  Too many days fly by without appreciation of the little things.

I only wish it was not so cold outside.  Neither dog likes to get wet!

I prefer seeing them like this:

My food has been on-point again today.  I am proud of myself.  I have gone over the daily goal but still have almost 400 remaining.  I will take it.  The food probably would have been better had my sugar not decided to drop right after my workout.  It did not do a free fall.  It dropped enough that I knew I needed to get something quick.  I went with an apple cut in half and put a tablespoon of peanut butter on each half.  Well . . . It was more like a tablespoon and a half on each (I still tend to go heavy-handed when using a normal eating tablespoon rather than an actual measuring spoon).  It did the trick, though.  My sugars righted themselves and all was well in my world again.

Speaking of food . . . I find it incredibly hard to pare down any recipe so it is suitable for one person.  When I come across a recipe I may want to try (the operative word is may), I feel I should not have to break out a calculator to do any form of math.  I should be able to grab all the ingredients and slap them all together.  I believe someone should put together a blasted cookbook of single serving-sized recipes.  Meals for One, please.  Simple Meals for One.  No bloody leftovers.  One and done!

I HATE to cook.  It is not that I can’t.  It is that I do not like to do it.  Suzy Q. Homemaker I am not.  Nor have I ever wanted to be.  When my children were little, the ONLY reason I cooked was because they were too young to fend for themselves.  It was not uncommon to hear one of them ask, “What kind of microwave are we having for dinner tonight, Mommy?”  Sometimes they would let me know, “Mom, So-and-So is coming over for microwave tonight.”

When I did actually cook on the stove, I would either make so much they ate the same thing for one week straight; or, I would make the same thing over and over and over again . . . Essentially like having leftovers for a week straight.  LOL  However, I can make a mean lasagne and stuffed shells!  (My husband likes to think his lasagne is better than mine, but he is wrong!  I shall let him keep deluding himself, though.  It’s the good wife-y thing to do! ;-))

When I made my Turkey Chili for dinner tonight, I really did try to down size the recipe from Serves 4 to Serves 1.  But . . . I still wound up with a ginormous pan.  Looks like I will be having leftovers for at least four more meals.  UGH!  I am not a fan of freezing leftovers.  I prefer to eat leftovers when they are ‘fresh’.

Ok.  I just busted out the hubby’s Food Saver device.  I generated three single serving packages of the Turkey Chili.  Since I am a moron and did not thoroughly read all the ingredients for tomorrow’s lunch recipe, leftovers it will be.  :-\

Even though we did not get our walk today, I am going to say Day 23 is a success!  Every little bit counts and I will take it where I can get it!  😀

Oh . . . And I learned something new:

Pluviophile

6 thoughts on “Day 23 – There is Beauty in the Rain

  1. Hey girl, glad to read you 🙂
    Well, I don’t know how to describe myself because when it’s raining outside, this is when I like to stay in bed and listen to the rain… Am I a pluviophile? hahahaha
    It was just a little message to cheer you up,
    You are doing really great. Keep up the good work…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those fur babies ! 😍😍 I’m totally chuckling about the cooking part – that is entirely me right now . My past entire year we have lived out of the microwave because I’m so overwhelmed with three little kids- plus I hate cooking . 🙈 We still got our veggies in , though !

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY for getting those veggies in! When the kids are young, life IS always hectic!

      My fur babies are so low maintenance compared to my actual babies! 😉 I love them all to pieces, though! ❤ ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

