Day 27 – I CAN Do This!

Calm Down

Today is a very successful day!  Even though this was a Rest Day, I was still super active.  ALWAYS a plus!

I did not go to sleep until around 0600 this morning.  I was up by 1100.  Not great.  I really do need to work on my sleep next.  It took me a couple of hours to get up and get moving.  The sun was shining, the sky had some pretty awesome clouds happening, and the backyard screamed at me.

It has been a couple of months since I performed a F.O.D. Walk (Foreign Object Debris, it’s an Air Wing thing) in the backyard.  As I have two dogs, there are twice the amount of land mines out there.  Today, I ended up walking 2.26 miles in my own backyard and filled a 5-gallon paint bucket twice.  So, not only did I get a cardio workout in, I managed to do some sculpting, too!  LOL

 

Cleaning Doggie Land Mines - Saturday, 6 February 2016.jpg
This is what 2.26 miles looks like in my backyard . . . I cleaned up the Doggie Land Mines.  🙂

According to the Rotation Calendar, today is a Rest Day.  I still managed to get two different walks in.  The actual walk with Honey and Milo was 3.80 miles.  I am thankful today was a beautiful day.  I spent quite a bit of time outdoors which is always a good thing.

 

Shortly after getting on the trail, I noticed something large laying across the path.  From a distance, it look like someone and left a rolled up carpet.  As we walked closer, it looked too bulky and odd-shaped to be a rolled up carpet.  Nope.  Definitely not carpet.  Some numbnuts intentionally placed them across the trail.  They were laying too neatly to have ‘just fallen’ there.  Further up the trail on the right side, there was an indentation where a large branch.  Said branch was about 15 feet away, laying next to the trail.

Honey and Milo Waiting While I Move the Dead Trees from the Trail - Saturday, 6 February 2016
Honey and Milo patiently waiting for me to clear the way. They are such awesome puppies!

Along the way, I noticed the trash accumulating.  What the hell?!  I really do not understand people. If it was not for the fact I was expecting company within 15 minutes of us getting home from our walk, I would have picked up one of the bags left on the ground and picked the trash up.  Well . . . There is always tomorrow!

WARNING:  Gruesome description ahead:  In addition to the trash along the trail, we discovered was a dead body. At first glance, it looked like it could have been a rather large fish.  The skeleton was just a skull attached to the spine, some ribs and the right hind leg and foot.  The foot still had fur attached.  The skull had skin attached but had been inverted – like an animal had grabbed ahold and was trying to peel it off.  The remaining skin was either leathery and frozen or just leathery.  I did not want to get that up-close-and-personal.

I suspect it was a dog because the nails on the hind foot were trimmed.  Honey and Milo were definitely curious about it.  I was saddened by our discovery.  I am a bleeding heart when it comes to animals.

During the last mile or so, Milo kept pulling us off the trail toward the woods.  He normally does his ‘business’ way off the trail, in wooded areas or behind tall weed.  He likes his ‘privacy.’  Ha  We would get to a spot, he would walk back and forth, back and forth, back and forth, then decide it wasn’t good enough.  Talk about frustrating!  Oh. My. Gosh!  He got his leash hooked up with a rather tall weed which promptly dumped its seeds (or whatever they were) all over poor Honey-Girl.  Typically, it is Honey who can never seem to find ‘just the right spot.’

Food has been on point today.  Sugar dropped three times throughout the day.  I am going to try to eat much more frequently (like every two hours or three hours).  Maybe that will help.  If it doesn’t, then I will have to up the caloric intake.

Rather than going out to dinner like we normally do on Saturdays, we stayed in.  I made Panko Crispy Chicken, mashed potatoes, broccoli-cauliflower mix and sauteed mushrooms.  The chicken was fried in two tablespoons of canola oil.  The mushrooms were sauteed with a teaspoon of olive oil.  I accidentally added way too much butter to the mashed potatoes.  They still turned out great.  My husband teased me, “You’re trying to kill me by making me eat all healthy and stuff!”

So what does he do?  He texted our friends to ask when they were coming over.  He told them he needed to counteract the ‘healthy crap’ I was making him eat!  Their daughter is selling Girl Scout Cookies.  We always buy a crap-ton every year.  My nieces, nephews and friends’ children all know to go see Auntie Patti because she always spends lots of money.  LOL

Speaking Girl Scout Cookies . . . My favorite is the Shortbread Cookies.  I discovered I can have FOUR!  One serving size is only 120 calories!  YAY!  When I eat them, I usually eat one and then drink a bunch of water.  It is my way of ‘tricking’ my mind into thinking I am having more than I really am.

I really feel this time I am going to be successful.  Why?  What is different than any other time I have started this journey?  I have opened myself up in a way I never have before.  Never before have I shared my weight.  Never before have I shared my actual measurements.  Never before have I worked on the mental AND the physical at the same time.  I am taking baby steps.  I am realizing AND acknowledging I did not get to where I am overnight; nor will I get to where I want to be overnight.  I am connecting to others on a similar journey in ways I have not in the past.

This time I WILL succeed!  I CAN do this!

3 thoughts on “Day 27 – I CAN Do This!

Leave a Reply

