Day 60 – I Have Completed Two WHOLE Months!

I'm On A Very Strict Diet

I have made it to Day 60! I am VERY pleased with myself!  Typically, I have given up long before I reach this point.

Even though I did NOT feel like doing Ultimate Calorie Blaster today, I got up and pushed Play.  Unfortunately, I did not have time to take the puppies for a walk before having to rush and get ready to go to lunch with my mom, brother and sister-in-law.

We went to Olive Garden for lunch.  We took my mom out for her 70th Birthday (which was actually on Tuesday).  We had an absolute pleasurable time.  The only child there was my brother’s one-year-old granddaughter.  We were able to relax and walk away without spending hundreds of dollars!  Normally, if the whole family goes, we cover not only our mom’s meal, but our children’s meals as well.  Definitely a nice change of pace!

During the drive back to my mom’s, I asked her if she had gotten in touch with her doctor.  She desperately needs to have surgery on her knee as it is bone on bone.  However, before she can have the surgery, she needs to lose 50 pounds and have a BMI lower than 40.  She said she has not.  I asked her why not.  She told me she lost the weight on her own before and she is going to do it again.  She admitted she is unable to do a lot of the things she had done before.  I suggested she sign up to take Water Aerobics at the Y.  She said she doesn’t want to have to leave the house every day.  I told her if she needed someone to take her, I would be more than happy to.  Of course, she did not like that.

While having this conversation, I realized my mother does not want to leave her comfort zone.  I’m not sure if she is afraid or what.  She has been this way my whole life.  She finds her comfort zone and does not like to venture past it.  I wish I could explain to her “Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.”  There is so much more to life than sitting in a recliner, playing online games, solitaire with a deck of cards and watching syndicated TV shows!  How does one explain to a stubborn, 70-year-old, Hungarian-Belgian woman her family wants her around for at least another 30 years?!  In order for that to happen, she needs to get up and get moving.  I know if she were to get up and get moving, she would see a whole different world!

I love my mother.  She is my heroine.  She is one of the greatest reasons I became the person I am today.  The things she has struggled through and survived has been a source of inspiration to me.  She single-handedly raised five demonic children from Hell while receiving no financial aid from the husband who abandoned the family or any other assistance.  She was able to keep a roof over our heads, food in our stomachs and clothes on our backs AND, through the Grace of God (along with an Army of Angels), maintain her sanity!  She is not perfect.  She has never claimed to be.  Momma has always loved her children unconditionally.  My momma has an incredible inner strength.  I am so grateful to have her as my MoM.

My mother is also a source of frustration for me.  I want so much for her to have the surgery.  I want her to get off all the damn medicine she is currently on.  My siblings and I are selfish because we want her around forever.  The problem is her and her damn comfort zone.  At some point, we really need to get her out of it.  I will not enable her.  She knows I will push her . . . Which is why she will call my siblings.  She knows they will give her what she wants.  They will not give her what she needs.  I have to hand it to her, though.  She does not complain too much.  She will let us know about her aches and pains, but she tries really hard to not complain.  She does not say too much to me.  I have been very vocal about not enabling her.  I will help her.  However, it will be the right way.  She just has to WANT the help.

The slacks I wore today are extremely loose in the waist.  They were not like that a few weeks ago.  This means my waist is shrinking!  I was so excited when I buttoned them up and saw all the extra room!  The legs (thigh portion) are looser, too!  I realize people will not notice until I lose at least 50 pounds and have gone from an 18W to probably a 14 Regular.  It would be nice if someone would notice (AKA my spousal unit).  A word of encouragement every once in a Great Blue Moon from him would do wonders for my morale.  Oh well . . . What can one do when one’s spouse is not overly observant?  :-S

I plan to get up early tomorrow to take the dogs for a walk before their doctor’s appointment.  I must remember to gather a stool sample to take (which is easy enough as they ALWAYS poo at least once).  After we get home, I will still have time to get in a regular workout.

I Will Fight

8 thoughts on “Day 60 – I Have Completed Two WHOLE Months!

  1. I found this post quite encouraging. I am struggling BIG TIME with my weight. I need to lose at least 150lbs. I’m severely overweight. But I can’t seem to find the encouragement that I need. I need to be pushed. But all my efforts to do this have failed. Do you have any advice to offer? Also, are you following any sort of meal plan?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, Sweetie! The Struggle is REAL!! Finding the encouragement and motivation must first come from within.

      What is really helping me this time is ‘putting myself out there’. People see the exterior (physical) me. Blogging is revealing the interior. It is allowing me to work through things which really need to be resolved or worked through. Plus, it allows me to connect with other people who are on similar journeys. I am able to gather strength, inspiration and motivation from them. I cannot express how important it is to me to know there are other people who share the same feelings and thought processes as I do.

      Another thing Blogging is doing is keeping me accountable. For me, knowing there are people who are ‘watching’ me, pushes me to stay on track. In my mind, I feel if I ‘fall off the wagon,’ I will be letting them down. I hate to let anyone down! (When I do, it starts a whole other mess of things mentally!)

      I am working on my inner demons – painful things which have effected me in so many ways and on so many levels. I have come to realize I must work through these things if I have any chance of being successful. I have ‘started’ and stopped this journey so many times over the past 17+ years, it is not even funny. I am my own worst enemy!

      Another tool I use is Google. I look for Motivational Quotes or sayings. I will scroll through tons of images until one (or more) scream at me. I have a folder for that sole purpose. Currently, I have 360 images in it and I keep adding to it! The more positive, the better. They are not all on weight loss. They include forgiveness, surviving domestic abuse, family, beauty and life. If the message speaks to me, I save it.

      As for meal plans, I have yet to find one I know I will be able to live with and do for the rest of my life. (I am a finicky eater!) What I have been doing different this time around is truly paying attention to what I am eating. I have been using MyFitnessPal to log my food. I have been trying to keep within the allotted caloric range. Although, truth be told, these past couple of weeks I have exceeded the allotment on several days. 😦 BUT . . . I am working on NOT beating myself up for it.

      Sorry for being so long-winded! (I am notorious for it! 😀 ) If I can help you in any way, I will!

      “There is no such thing as ‘Going Back to Square One.’ Even if you feel like you’re having to start over, you are TRYING AGAIN with more knowledge, strength and power than you had before. Your journey was never over, it was just waiting for you to find it again.”

      “You have to get up every morning and tell yourself “I CAN DO THIS”

      “There is no One Giant Step that does it. It’s a lot of Little Steps.”

      My personal mantra: BABY STEPS.

      ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

