Days 67 and 68 – Not Sweating The Small Stuff

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff

Days 67 and 68 are officially complete.  Both days were successful where exercise was concerned and mostly on point with the food.  I am very glad it is the weekend!

On Thursday, the pups and I walked 3.46 miles after I completed Ultimate Calorie Blaster.  I have been trying to like that workout.  I really have.  I’m not feeling it, though.  I see it on the rotation calendar now and I end up having this sense of dread come over me.  To top it all off, I am finding myself actively looking for reasons to not do this particular workout.

I cannot have that.  If I allow myself the excuses for one, they will eventually trickle over to the other workouts.  This means I need to figure out a good substitution.  Thankfully, I have six different ones I can choose from which fall into the same category as Ultimate Calorie Blaster.  As a fact, these are almost all of my workout DVDs:

Workout DVDs.JPG

If I cannot find a replacement cardio workout from all of those, I have some serious issues!  I wish I could put my finger on just what it is that I do not like about Ultimate Calorie Blaster.  It is not because of the choreography.  I actually have all the moves down.  (Normally it’s the choreography that causes me to give up.)  The lead definitely transitions between moves quickly.  I’m not a fan of too fast transitioning.  However, I understand why it is necessary.  Maybe it could partially be due to the up and over moves we have to perform?  I have two left feet (and short, stumpy legs).  They end up getting tangled up with each other occasionally and I am TERRIFIED of breaking an ankle.  So for those moves, I stay grounded.

This is the TransFIRMer:

TransFIRMer

The teal section is 6 inches and the blue is 8.  The FIRM’s Signature Leg Press and Tall Box Climb moves are performed on the fully assembled 14 inch TransFIRMer.  It’s a pain in the ass to drag the equipment out all the time (which is another reason I had relegated it to a corner to collect dust for years), but it is versatile and I do see results when I use it consistently.  Plus, I have been able to use it for some of their other workouts.

I think I know which one or ones I will be using as substitutions.  Rotation is good.  Keeps me from getting bored with the same workout.  🙂

On Friday (Day 68), the pups and I walked/jogged 3.5 miles.  I was able to jog .6 miles.  I would have pushed a little further, but Honey looked like she was limping.  We walked the last .3 mile.  Baby steps in the jogging department . . . Baby steps.

I was going to do Jiggle Free Arms and Jiggle Free Abs, but decided not to.  I woke up earlier than normal this morning.  I knocked out some of my chores before taking off for the walk.  The chores took longer than I anticipated.  This meant I got behind schedule.  I probably could have completed both of those workouts; however, I did not want to have to rush to get ready for work.  I hate rushing.  Especially after a workout because my body does not have enough time to cool down.  I end up sweating so much I need another damn shower!

On Saturday, rather than rush through our walk, I am going to take a trash bag with us and clean up the trash I see all over the place on the trail.  I cannot stand it anymore!  I see Styrofoam cups all over the place; empty water bottles; and all kinds of other trash.  It’s disgusting.  Depending on my energy level, I may just rake the leaves from the fence-line and walk another couple of miles in my backyard cleaning up all the puppy landmines.  We shall see how it goes.

Speaking of my pups . . . They really do bring me joy.  They love me unconditionally.  No matter how shitty of a day I am having, I can look at them and feel myself calming.  When we get ready to go for our walks or go outside, they get so excited.  It’s like their whole little bodies light up from the excitement.  I make my schedules around them.  I hate to be away from them for extended periods of time.  They are so adorable!  Oh . . . And VERY spoiled!  ❤  ❤

I am definitely beginning to notice a lot more room in the waist on my jeans.  The legs are slowly becoming looser.  Is it possible I could be out of 18W by the beginning of May?  Is it realistic and doable?  I say YES!  I must remain consistent with staying within my daily caloric allotment and exercising.  Baby Steps.  Slow and Steady.

So, even though I did not perform all the workouts on my rotation calendar for this week, I will not beat myself up for it.  I have walked the dogs every day this week.  I have been averaging between 12000 and 16000 steps each day.  Therefore, not working out one or two days is small stuff . . .

I will not sweat the small stuff!

Finish Each Day

6 thoughts on “Days 67 and 68 – Not Sweating The Small Stuff

  1. Awesome job all together. I like that you are working in some jogging, if it feels good for you. If you are not excited about that one video, forget it, find something that excites you! Give your pups a scratch behind the ears from me. They are lucky to have a Mama that loves them so much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great job, Patti!! You are doing so well! I would switch out that video for anything that will work better, it’s not worth feeling that anxiety and resentment before exercising. Kudos on the extra room in the jeans, your hard work is paying off!! I love the puppies, give them loves from me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I definitely plan to switch the video. As a fact, I sat and ‘previewed’ a couple yesterday. They were two I had not done before. I will probably rotate through several of them. 🙂 I will most definitely give them lovin’ from you! They LOVE having attention paid to them! Honey is an Attention Hound! She will actually push Milo out of the way! She is such a brat! No matter what, though, they melt my heart every day!

      ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jumping rope is out for me. Squats, may be doable. The workout I did today was only 30 minutes long and kicked my booty hard! I was drenched in sweat! I still had to take the pups for their walk, too! I will probably just rotate through the six I found to use as substitutions. They are all going to kick the booty . . . Which is just what I need! 😀

        ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

