Days 90 – 94 – Three Months In

So Often We Become

I am now three months into 2016 The Year of My New Beginning.  I started out strong and am feeling myself peter out.  I feel my waistline  expanding . . . Or maybe I am just bloated from my poor food choices over the past couple of weeks.  I do not know.  I just know I need to get my head out of my ass and focus on getting this food issue back under control.  It is where I struggle the most.

I do great during the week when the hubby is gone.  Then he comes home and everything goes to shit.  Neither of us feel like cooking so we end up going out.  However, we are both so bloody picky, it is not even funny.  He claims he can eat anything.  Yet when I suggest we try new places, he either makes a face or says he’s not interested.  So, our choices are limited to Olive Garden, one of two favorite Chinese restaurants, Red Robin or maybe IHOP.  With the children grown and out of the house, it is way less expensive to eat out.

I have not been working out every day as planned, either.  I have been walking the dogs.  Although this past weekend (Days 90 and 91) I opted to paint my youngest son’s bedroom rather than walk the pups.  They were not happy, either.

On Monday (Day 92), I only walked 3.52 miles with the fur babies.  My sister and I went to see My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 for Sister-Bonding Time.  After the movie, we had time to have brunch at a family owned local diner.

Tuesday (Day 93) saw a 4.34 mile walk.  Instead of doing the workout on the Rotation Calendar, I opted to do Turbo Jam 20 Minute Workout.  I still broke a sweat, but not like I would have had I completed one of my FIRM workouts.  It was fun, though.  I do enjoy Chalene as an instructor.

Today (Day 94) I was going to walk the pups and then come home to workout.  It did not happen.  I barely managed to finish the 4.76 mile walk.  My lower back was killing me.  As a fact, it has been for several days now.  The walk home was a very slow one.  I may have to switch things up and do a workout before heading out for the walk.

The problem with working out first instead of walking the dogs is the fact it is now Spring.  This means warmer temperatures earlier.  Both pups prefer the cooler temperatures.  I would walk at night if I had someone to walk with us.  However, the warmer temperatures also means an increase in bugs.  I.  HATE. BUGS!  Mosquitoes LOVE me.

So, walking them first is the best option.  It will loosen me up and prepare me for the workout.  Thankfully, none of them are more than like 55 minutes.  Most are between 30 and 45 minutes.  I’m good with that.

After I finished the walk, about the only thing I could really do was vacuum.  It seemed to help the back a little.  I got ready for work and then headed out to the Mall.  For whatever damn reason, I was craving Five Guys.  That is exactly what I had.  I am still full.  All I had was a small Cajun Fry and a Little Bacon Cheeseburger.  I do love when one meal fills me up and leaves me so full I do not have to eat until the next morning!

After Five Guys, I ordered my contacts.  From there, I walked over to Lady FootLocker.  In a few days, my new walking shoes will be here!  I cannot wait!  I will be taking a picture of them before they become all broken in and dirty.  I really like the colors on them!  I am SO excited!

I also picked up some Hi-Performance socks.  I hope they will help to prevent blisters.  Last year, I wound up with horrid blisters on both heels and lost a toe nail on one of my feet.  Too much slippage.  According to my wonderful sales person, Brandon, he said these will not slip.  Slippage causes blisters.  Blisters cause Patti to become an evil bear.

This weekend I learned my husband is going to be home for almost two weeks next month.  When I found out, my mind went into a state of panic.  I am so used to him being gone all the time.  When he is home, he throws my whole schedule off.  I know he does not mean to.  It just happens.  Having him home will be great.  However, about the time I finally get used to having him around, he will be going back to work.

The other reason my mind had a panic attack is because we cannot financially afford for him to take long periods of time off.  His job always seems to find a way to bend him over a barrel.  His miles get shortened.  He does not get the good runs.  He is left to sit in a dock somewhere for hours, burning up his available driving hours, while they ‘attempt’ to find him the next run.  All sorts of little things.  Those little things add up to BIG things, though.  Well . . . We shall see what happens.

I suppose I should step away from here and pop on over to CBTNuggets so I can take some more CompTIA Network+ Practice Exams.  I only have 33 days left to get as much practice as I possibly can in.

Even though I am hating myself and feeling larger than a grey whale, I shall end on a positive:

Exercise Because the Zombies

21 thoughts on “Days 90 – 94 – Three Months In

  1. I had a bad week. Too tired to do ANY exercise, not even walking. Very unlike me but I am waiting for “it” to pass, whatever it is. Plus I just scarfed down some sea salt dark chocolate covered caramels. Is it a full moon again?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not yet! It sure does feel like it, though! I’m sorry you’re so tired! Other than tired, are you having any other ‘buggy’ symptoms? I certainly hope you are not getting ill!

      ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Keep the faith Patti!
    Let me give you a little advice. Don’t know if it will help.
    1. Chose a day where you’re completely free or just a day where you have time.
    2. Check on 7 to 14 healthy and yummy meals on the internet or that you already know
    3. Make them.
    4. Put them in tupperwares then put them in the freezer. I said 7 or 14 because, you can choose to eat the same thing noon and supper, or have one meal for noon and one for supper.
    5. Your healthy food is already in the freezer so you don’t need to think about what you’re gonna eat. Make sure the meals are yummy so you’re not tempted by anything else.

    Be strong and commited and it might work for 2 days the first time… Then try again until you can do the full 7 days.
    You’re not in a race. Let’s say that for now, you’re trying to find what is the good method for you ❤

    Keep going, we're here with you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the advice! For me, it would probably be best if I have the same thing twice a day for one week. Then find something new for the week after that and so on. I can handle eating the same thing for multiple meals on multiple days. My problem is I absolutely HATE cooking. My stove still looks brand spanking new because it does not normally get used, except by the hubby on the weekends when he’s home.

      However, I know if I am to be successful I must STOP being my own worst enemy! Every one of your suggestions are spot on and easily doable. There are times when I wish I had a personal chef or at the very least, someone else around the house to share the food with.

      Thank you for being so supportive and encouraging! It means A LOT!!

      ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel your pain, girl! Full moon? The weather? Voodoo? I mean why is it so many of us are off?

    I totally understand what you mean about throwing your schedule out, I just get on track and work will do training and a lunch, my friends will want to get the girls out and either drinks and dinner or some type of potluck, and then I say well screw this week… Don’t know why, it just happens. And I find there is always something!

    Step by step is right, it’s not a race, we do what we do, and I am here with you, keep up the great work, you are doing just fine, whether you believe it or not, you can also make healthy choices when dining out, but if you’re like me – sometimes I don’t make the wisest of choices.

    By the way – thank you for the nomination – I believe you know how much I needed that! ❤️💙💜💛💚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it is fast-approaching the full moon again! Or it could simply be the weather has turned nice again.

      I am like you! I definitely fail to make the wise and proper choices . . . A LOT! That is very much a work in progress! LOL

      You are most welcome for the nomination! Thank you for participating!

      Positivity! We are all in need of it!

      ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Can it be learned? To make the right choices, because even in my mind, I don’t think I think right, if you know what I mean, so I’ll think to myself, when I lose weight, I can eat what I want, this in itself must not be a healthy thought, but my mind works around wanting to eat good tasting food, fatty food, bad for you food, and I wish I could change how I thought about food, or myself for that matter.

    At any rate, you are doing great, baby steps, Rome wasn’t built in a day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

