Days 102 – 106 – Not Family But Sure As Hell Feels Like It

Prince

I cannot lie.  I am still in shock.  Prince is my ALL TIME FAVORITE artist.  There is and ever will be only ONE Prince.  The man was a musical genius.  His uniqueness and essence spoke volumes.

Thursday, 21 April 2016 (Day 102) started out like any other day for me.  I walked the dogs.  I putzed around the house.  Then I get a text from my sister which has forever changed my life.  It was she who broke the news to me about his passing.  I was dumbfounded.  I was shocked.  I was crushed.  I was heartbroken.  I went through the day on auto-pilot.

There have only been three celebrity deaths which have had this kind of effect on my.  I feel as though I have lost a beloved family member. Each person had an aura about them which spoke to me.  There was something about each I identified with.

Steve Irwin

The first was Steve Irwin in 2006.  His passion and love for all animals – warm blooded and cold blooded – spoke to me.  He was passionate about conservation.  His personality was larger than life and he used it to bring awareness to so many things where animals are concerned.  He helped the world to change their perspective regarding animals which have been vilified for centuries.

Robin Wiliams

The second was Robin Williams in 2014.  He was a comedic genius.  I remember watching him on Happy Days and Laverne and Shirley.  He had a way of bringing light to dark topics.  His brilliance was evident in every one of his movies.

Prince in Blue

The third is Prince.  He was not my family but his loss feels as though he was.  His music has gotten me through so many difficulties in my life.  When I listen, I am actually hearing the message.  He never compromised his beliefs.  He stood his ground even when the odds appeared stacked against him.  For me, his uniqueness and keeping his private life as private as possible speaks volumes of the man he is.

Prince - 37 Years of Fame

I feel as though I am still on auto-pilot.  I smile.  I do all my normal stuff.  However, it is all a front.

Friday, 22 April (Day 103) was a normal day.  I walked the pups.  When I got home, I spent the entire rest of the morning cleaning all three of my bathrooms.  The master took the longest.  I tore it all apart and did a deep clean.  I eliminated quite a bit of stuff, too!  Quite the productive morning!

I put on a pair of my work slacks.  I was taken aback at how much extra room in the waist I have.  I have not been working out like I was.  I’ve really been slacking in that area.  When I did workout last week, it was only a half-assed effort.  (Not with the walks, though.  Those definitely worked me.)  I still have quite a way to go.  However, I AM actually seeing progress.  It is not as much as I want.  I have no one to blame except myself.  It all boils down to my eating.

Saturday, 23 April (Day 104) was supposed to be my Woman Marine’s Association meeting.  It ended up being canceled.  So, I took the pups for a walk and then came home and spent the entire day studying.  The hubby and nieces went to my mom’s to participate in the group cleanup of her yard.  It was a quiet day and I loved it.

Sunday, 24 April (Day 105) brought me a 3.36 mile walk with the pups and a 7.16 mile walk with a push mower.  I am participating in a 100 Day Step Challenge at work.  I am on a team of 7.  (We did have 8 but one had to drop because her knees were causing her tremendous issues.)  Our grass needed to be cut.  The tractor is buried behind a bunch of stuff in the shed.  I decided I wanted to buy a push mower.  It is my way of guaranteeing I get at least 15000 steps!  Plus, I do not like being in third place on my team!  LOL

Today is Day 106.  I walked the dogs and did about 10 minutes of one workout. I just wasn’t feeling it.  I may have pushed myself a bit too much and my body is telling me I need to give it a rest.  I can pick up tomorrow where I left off today.

I cannot believe I will be 50 in just SIX DAYS!  The time has been flying by at an incredible rate of speed.  I can no longer just do things half-assed.  I need to put forth extra effort if I want to have noticeable results when my children, family and friends descend upon my house for my 50th Birthday Party in 26 days.

I am going to bust out the 21-Day Fix and follow it for one rotation.  I saw good results during the first two weeks when I did it originally.  I have the containers.  Now I just need the food to fill them and to follow it . . . No cheating.  It is only 21 days.  Her workouts are only 30 minutes.

I got this!  I WILL have results which are noticeable by my children and those who have not seen me in a while.  I’m still shooting to be under 200 by then.  Even if I am not, I will have lost more inches (or maybe they will just have been redistributed to various regions).

Here is my daily positive:

A Positive Weight Loss

4 thoughts on “Days 102 – 106 – Not Family But Sure As Hell Feels Like It

  1. Oh Patti!
    Thanks for this beautiful post!
    I didn’t know you loved him… You know I’m a musician so of course he was a Master for me! His death is so sudden, unexpected and … I have no words… 😦
    Sad, sad year for real music lovers.
    I’m so happy to see that we have something else in common… 🙂
    Much love to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have loved him from the first time I heard him!! There really was a part of me who kept hoping and praying it was NOT him. I selfishly wanted it to be someone else. Horrible, I know. It was very unexpected and sudden. My heart still aches. 😢😢💔💔

      Music is something I use to get me through things in life. I don’t just “hear” the music, I LISTEN. Songs have messages. Songs can be lessons. The artists who perform them are the teachers. Their voices and talents are the instruments and conveyors of the messages.

      I agree. This IS a sad, sad year for music lovers.

      I love we have many things in common . . . And that we keep finding more!

      So much love sent to you, as well!

      💜💜🎤🎤🎼🎼💜💜

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel for you, I was shocked when I found out about Prince, such a shame. Hugs to you.

    Good job feeling the extra room in your slacks! That is awesome, you should be very proud! 🙂 Let me know how the 21-day fix goes, I was considering trying that one. I’m no where near my goal, and I have to do something! Your achievements are inspiring me, I want to have looser pants too! ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I will definitely be letting you know how it goes. This will be the second time starting the 21 Day Fix. I am forcing myself to take some time to plan out meals for the next three weeks/21 Days. I know the workouts will be the easiest for me. It’s the damn food that gets me. EVERY. SINGLE. TIME!!!! 😦

      You WILL have looser pants! Remember, we are on this journey TOGETHER!! You are NOT ALONE!!!!

      ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

