Days 112 – 114 – I Have Hit the Big Half Century Mark

Vintage 1966

I’ve joined the B.I.G. 5-0 Club!  I cannot believe I am actually 50 years old as of yesterday!  Once I hit 18, time seemed to pick up steam and has flown right on by me!

I did absolutely nothing special.  As a fact, I made sure to change my birth date to unpublished on Facebook!  I did not want to have a gazillion notifications going off constantly.   Plus, I feel bad for failing at wishing others “happy birthday”.

I did have that set as a goal for this year . . . To make sure I send birthday wishes to all my family and friends on Facebook.  I do not think I made it to the middle of January before I failed that goal!  However, those who are important to me receive a ‘singing’ birthday text, a call or a private Facebook message.

Overall, it was a wonderful day!  The pups and I took our morning stroll. It was only 3.7 miles. Barely longer than normal. We had just passed the .5 mark when my phone rings.  It was my daughter.  Because I was listening and talking through my earbuds, I didn’t recognize her voice at first. So, she and I chatted for the rest of the walk.

While I was talking with her my youngest called.  I ended up having to call him back.  My oldest son texted me a hair past midnight. They are such awesome children. I am SOOOO looking forward to seeing them on the 20th!

On Sunday (Day 112), I fiddled around the house for a bit.  Finally, late in the afternoon, I decided to cut the grass.  This time it was only 6.22 miles.  I don’t know how I shaved off a mile, but I managed to somehow!  After the grass was cut, I took the pups for a 3 mile walk.

Today (Day 114), it was a 3.69 mile walk.  I have failed to do any workouts since last week.  I’m trying to NOT come down hard on myself because I am walking the dogs which is something.  I still have not planned any meals.

I have my 50th Birthday Party coming up.  I feel myself heading into panic mode because there is so much to do around the house.  I have to paint the family room, dining room, and living room.  I have to clean all the windows in the house.  I have to clean out/clear out the retreat as that is where my stepdaughter will be sleeping.  I have to move the stove and refrigerator to clean the sides, behind and underneath them.  I have floors to mop.  I have curtains to vacuum in addition to the carpet.  Then, of course, there is the outside.  I do not have a green thumb.  I know my yard is a disaster and I have to jump through my ass to get it looking decent.

PHEW!  I’m exhausted just thinking about everything I need to do!  And somewhere in all of this, I need to study for my CompTIA Network+ Certification Exam!

With that said, I must find something positive to end with . . .

I Will Fight

8 thoughts on “Days 112 – 114 – I Have Hit the Big Half Century Mark

  1. late happy birthday !!! So glad you get to see your “babies” this month. ❤ Totally giggling over the facebook thing. I don’t advertise my birthday either.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, I feel exhausted, too! I am also bad at wishing happy birthdays on facebook but I have been making an effort…. When do you have to get all that stuff done by? As you know, I completely approve of your walking workouts 🙂 Technically, I’m not an expert, though. I ate bad the last two days….

    Liked by 1 person

    • My goal is to have everything done by the 18th. My sons should be home on the 19th. My daughter and son-in-law and former stepdaughter (my oldest two’s half sister), her boyfriend and her daughters will all be arriving on the 20th. I have a sinking suspicion my stepchildren will not be here. I will be having a house full of people on Saturday, 21 May. So, time is running out.

      Oh AND I found out my husband is going to be home from 13 May through 22 May! That is going to be A LOT of together time! LOL I am not sure I will be able to handle it! Hahahaha

      I mustn’t forget that I am on call for Jury Duty for 16 – 20 May, as well!

      :-O

      ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds like a lot of fun. I totally understand the feelings you and your husband will have of disappointment if the step kids do not make an effort. Allan and I have both had this type of situation, different, but still similar. All you can do is the enjoy the people who want to be with you. You will have a great time and everyone who comes will have a great time. I’m excited for you! Good luck doing all of that painting and everything!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Want to come back to the Midwest and help? 😉

        Because I love my husband, I will always try where they are concerned. However, I am not going to force a relationship if it is not wanted.

        I agree with you. I will take joy in spending time with those who want to spend time with me. 😊

        💜💜

        Liked by 1 person

      • You said it perfectly and it’s something I have been saying for a long time ~ you can’t force a relationship that just isn’t there. It takes effort from both sides and we can’t fix it alone, although At one time I tried real hard. The door is always open if and when the other party is ready. I would love to come and work in your yard, that’s my favorite, digging in the dirt planting stuff! You got sand, black dirt, clay or a combo? I miss good black earth, we live on a sand pit at the moment but there’s plants that work, amazingly!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have no idea! I do not have a green thumb at all! I am surprised I still have any plants growing out front. LOL

        Would I love to have an outstanding relationship with my stepchildren? Yes. I have to face the reality that it, in all likelihood, will not happen. ☹️ I am envious of my husband because he DOES have that relationship with all five children. He does not and had not made the distinction between biological and step. To him, they are all his. It is one of the things I love about him.

        I wish I lived on a sand pit! I would be out raking lines in it every day! LOL You only have to pull an occasional weed because sand is so awesome! 😆

        💜💜

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

