Day 138 – Let The Long Weekend Begin

Memorial Day - Iwo Jima Memorial.jpg

Today begins the long holiday weekend.  In the United States, Monday, 31 May is Memorial Day.  It is the day on which those who died in active military service are remembered.  It is the day chosen for us to honor those who gave the ultimate sacrifice.  It is to reflect and remember men like my Uncle Albert who was Killed in Action on 4 December 1944 during World War II and Captain Manuel Rivera, Jr who was killed during a ‘training’ mission during Operation Desert Shield on 22 January 1991.

I never got to meet my great uncle.  He died two years before my mother was born.  Captain Rivera, on the other hand . . . He was a truly amazing man.  He will forever hold a special place in my heart.

As I go about my daily chores, I will be reflecting and silently thanking all the men and women who paved the way for me to have the freedoms I have today through their blood, sweat, tears and paying the highest price possible:  sacrificing their lives . . .

Memorial Day Solemn Eagle

Leave a Reply

