Day 3 (But Really Day 145) – Describe Your Relationship With Your Parents

I Am Your Parent

My relationship with my mom is wonderful.  I have talked about how she is my role model.  She is a very strong woman.  My mom showed me the true meaning of unconditional love.  For without her, I would not be half the woman I am today.

Momma is always there for me.  No matter how shitty I acted or the situation I found myself in, I knew know I can go to her. She may not always like me but she ALWAYS loves me.

Because of this, I am the same way with my own children.  I love them unconditionally.  They know they can call me at any time of the day or night and I will be there for them.

Then there is my father. He is dead now.  So there is no relationship with him.  I accepted his presence in my mother’s life because he is who she chose to be with.  It does not mean I liked it, though.

Up until I was 12 years old, I was “Daddy’s Little Girl.”  Being the first born, it was a right of passage.  But then he left.

I’ve written about his abandonment.  Life was not easy after he left, but we managed.  Mom became both Mom and Dad.

When he returned, it was a shock.  He had no where else to go.  Mom always said she would take him back . . . And she did.

As I said earlier, he returned but his presence was only tolerated (barely).  When he passed away, there were no tears.  All of us had grieved his loss when he left in 1978.  The 10 years he was back with us could never make up for his 23 year absence.

My Promise to My Children

All About Me Lists

 

Leave a Reply

