Day 6 (But Really Day 148) – The Hardest Thing

Life is Like a Camera

For today, the question is:  What is the hardest thing you have ever experienced?

This is going to be a tough one for me to answer.  I have experienced many hard things over the course of my 50 years.  The thing is, when I sit and reflect on each of those experiences, I see them as being the hardest thing I have ever experienced at that time.

As a child, the hardest thing I ever experienced was my father abandoning my family.  Growing up in a single parent home with four other siblings was not walk in the park.

In my 20s, the hardest thing I ever experienced was being married to an abusive douche bag.  When I finally made my escape, the next hardest thing was being a single parent.  Thankfully, I had the best role model and person to lean on . . . My Mom.

In my 30s and mid-40s, trying to make my way back from a deep, dark and twisty depression was the hardest thing I ever experienced.

As I look back, time seems to have lessened the severity of each situation.  I have survived them all.  I would like to think I have learned something from them all and am a better person for the experiences.

You Have to Fight

2 thoughts on “Day 6 (But Really Day 148) – The Hardest Thing

Leave a Reply

