Days 147 – 149 – Have I Ever Claimed To Be Normal?

Maybe Next Time You'll Try

Day 147 was Sunday, 5 June 2016.  I had actually just wanted to sit around and  be a slug, but that did not happen.  Instead of taking the pups for a walk, I used my lawn mower to cut some of my neighbor’s lawn. Not a big deal, right?  Well . . .

She has over two acres.  Her riding mower is down for the count.  She lives alone.  She is a widow and has no human children.  She is asthmatic.  She had asked to borrow my lawn mower on Friday because she could not stand how long her grass had gotten.  I said, “Of course!”  (In all honesty, it was driving me bonkers, too!)

So, she gets it out and starts cutting.  She appears to be struggling.  She stops because she was having trouble breathing.  She walks it off by walking to the mailbox.  I hollered at her to make sure she kept her inhaler with her.  (The mailbox is about 1/10 of a mile from her house.)

While she is walking to the mailbox, I went into the house to put on my lawn mowing shoes.  I grabbed my earbuds and launched my exercise tracking apps (Fitbit, ResQWalk and WalkForADog).  By the time I was all geared up, she was back at the lawn mower.  She was really struggling.  I took over.  She asks, “How do you make it look so easy?!”

I have a Troy-Bilt TB230 Self-Propelled, Front Wheel Drive, gas mower.  It is a breeze to use . . . Unless you are not squeezing the lever which activates the front wheel drive!

Troy-Bilt TB230 Mower

I was rolling when we figured out what she was doing wrong!  So, I helped her finish up the section she had started and then moved to the back yard.  I did what I could before I had to get ready for work.  (Keep in mind, this was on Friday.)  She was getting ready to go out of town for the weekend, so she was unable to do more herself.

On Saturday, I had my Woman Marines Association meeting.  I took the pups for a quick walk before the meeting.  I had intended on cutting some more of S’s yard, but the rain put a damper on that plan.

Sunday rolls around.  I did not sleep overly well.  I woke up a couple of times in a panic because of a nightmare.  In this nightmare, I am at a dentist office (NOT my dentist).  There is this lady (not sure if she was a hygienist or a dentist) with a pair of pliers.  She said, “OOPS!” as she holds the pliers with a tooth from my mouth in it.  I asked, “What do you mean ‘OOPS’?!”  She replied, “I think I just took the wrong tooth!”  I woke up with my heart racing and I fly into the bathroom.  I flipped on the bathroom light and proceeded to ensure I still had all my teeth in my mouth!  It would not have been so bad except I woke up in a panic for a second time for the very same reason as the first time!  After reassuring myself it was only a hideous nightmare, I went back to sleep.

When I woke up for the final time, I figured I would just relax since the hubby would only be home for a few more hours. As I looked out the kitchen window, I could see S’s backyard.  It began screaming my name because it wanted me to cut the hippy-long grass.  So, I had to oblige!  Here is what I was able to accomplish in two hours:

Cutting Sherry's Backyard

Here is a Google Earth shot of our yards:

Sherry's Yard Sunday 5 June 2016

I outlined her backyard.  The green circles are the areas I cut and the yellow rectangle is where her garden used to be but is now an overgrown mess.  This is what it looks like when I cut my yard:

Lawn Mowing Sunday 24 April 2016

That’s doing the front and backyards.  You can’t really tell that my house is in the middle of all the squiggly lines, but it is!

Anyway, after I was finished with her yard, I took a shower and popped some Benadryl.  I chilled for the rest of the night.  I even went to sleep early because I had to get up early on Monday.  I was scheduled for a tooth extraction at 0800.

Monday (Day 148) morning arrived all too soon.  Number One Son is still home, so he had the privilege/pleasure of driving MoM to the dentist.  During the drive, I texted my daughter and Number Two Son.  Wanted the last text to be an “I love you” text in case something bad happened and I didn’t wake up. Morbid?  Yes.  However, it can happen.  I told Number One Son, “You know I want to be cremated, right?”  “Yes, Mom.  I know.”  (Of course, he said it in a very sarcastic/smartass tone!)  “Make sure I am divided into three urns . . . Four if Hubby wants me, too!”  He busts out laughing and said, “OH MY GOSH, MOM!  Will you stop?!  We all know what you want!  Besides, you ain’t dying anytime soon!”

So, we arrive at the dentist’s office.  He went in long enough to see how long it would take and to give them his telephone in case of emergency.  I fill out the necessary paperwork for my IV sedation.  A few minutes later, I’m taken back to the room.

While the dentist and his hygienist were chatting either about what needle to use or the instruments, I screamed, “OOOOWWWWW He’s hurting me!”  It scared the hell out of both of them causing me to laugh almost hysterically because the looks on their faces were priceless!  They were like, “What’s wrong?!  We didn’t even touch you!”  I told them I wanted to make sure they were awake.  I gave them an adrenaline rush so I knew they were awake.  Hahahahaha  I am SO rotten!  😀

Thankfully, the IV sedation worked beautifully and the procedure was over before I even realized it.  I do not remember getting into the wheelchair and being wheeled out to my son’s car.  My son told me the look on my face was like, “These are some REALLY GOOD drugs!”  He also told me I was a texting fool once I got in the car.  I didn’t remember doing it but have the texts to prove I did!

Here is what I sent to my boss and a friend:

Tooth is out.  Still on drugs.  Just waiting for more good drugs.  🙂  Then it will be off to bed!

Here is what I sent to Daughter and Number Two Son:

All done.  Drugs good.  🙂

I do not remember walking into Walmart or picking up my pain meds.  Number One Son had to help me because I was walking like an intoxicated person.  He had to stay near me because I was unable to stand up properly.

As soon as we got home, to the couch I went.  I do not remember much except sleeping.  I woke up one time and had a massive migraine.  It felt like I had a regiment of Marine Gorillas with jackhammers going off in my skull.  I took the blood-soaked gauze pad out of my mouth, rinsed the blood out, took some pain meds and then laid back down.  I slept the rest of the afternoon.

When I woke up, my jaw still felt as though someone had slugged me.  It still feels that way today (Day 149).  However, it is much more tolerable today.

I am glad my boss suggested taking a second day off.  I like the idea of not having to go into work.  If I want to take a nap, I can.  I will probably go out and cut the grass instead because the weeds are growing and I can’t stand it.  The day is super cool which makes for perfect grass-cutting weather.  (The temperatures will be rising over the next few days.)

I realized something when I was cutting the grass on Sunday.  When I walk the dogs or cut the grass, I really do not think about anything.  I listen to my music or my zombie podcast, “We’re Alive:  A Story of Survival” but really do not think about anything.  It is like I am in Zone Land.  My mind is almost like a blank canvas.  I was surprised when I realized this.  If only my mind would do this when it is time for me to go to bed!

And on that note, I shall end with this:

I Did A Push-up Today

 

6 thoughts on “Days 147 – 149 – Have I Ever Claimed To Be Normal?

Leave a Reply

