Day 149 – I Love Food, It’s As Simple As That

Ways To My Heart

Ahhhh . . . Day 149 and my brain-housing group has been actively engaged.  I have been doing some more introspection recently.  I have come to the conclusion I love food.  That’s it.  Pure and simple.  I am not an emotional eater.  I do not need a reason to binge.  I do not need a reason to overeat.  I do not need an excuse to ‘reward’ myself with food.  I.  Love.  Food.  It really is as simple as that.

By the same token, I am a compulsive over-eater.  I do not like throwing up.  I never have.  I would never make it as a bulimic.  I cannot go long periods without eating anymore.  In my youth, I could go days without eating.  Of course, the biggest reason was stress.  (Mr Potato Head played a huge role in that.)

Recently, I have noticed an increase in my compulsions.  Twice within the past month I have eaten an entire medium pizza by myself . . . Eight slices . . . In one sitting.  And the sad thing?  Even though it gave me a stomach ache, I still wanted something else to eat.  Had I been able to leave, I would have went and got a blizzard from Dairy Queen.  The night before my oral surgery (Sunday, Day 147), I ate an entire quart of vegetable fried rice AND had a large Oreo Chocolate Master Shake from Sonic.

I am failing to understand why I feel it is perfectly acceptable and OK to go hog-wild and eat whatever the hell I want to when my family is around, yet when I am alone, I do not have as much of a problem staying on track.  Or is it I am being enabled?  There is always that possibility.  My family may be enabling me without even realizing it.  They could be thinking, “It’s just Mom.  She always eats like that.”

And then there are days like today.  Any extra calories burned were consumed when I had the KFC Famous Bowl, chocolate chip cookie, medium fruit punch, and DQ Strawberry Funnel Cake for dessert.  Or so I thought . . .

I just logged my food intake in My Fitness Pal for the first time in ages.  When all was said and done, I still had 230 calories to spare.  It went over the caloric allotment but because I had burned a shit ton from mowing the lawn today, I had the extra calories.

I still have my mini goal of going down one clothing size (18W to 16W) by 17 August.  I leave to go babysit my grand fur babies while my daughter and son-in-law go on their anniversary trip and attend a wedding for a friend.  This means I have 70 days to achieve it.

To aid my progress, I will be using my FIRM workouts again.  Since it is now summer here in the U.S., my walks with the pups are shorter.  I do not want the overheating.  I take water with us, but sometimes it is just not enough.  With that being said, I will not feel so horrible for shorting their daily walks.  Instead of walking 3.75 – 4 miles, we will only walk two miles.  If it is really warm, the walk will be even shorter.  After the walks, I will come home and do whatever workout is on my Rotation Calendar.

I generated a Rotation Calendar which will carry me to the end of the year.  If, by chance, I get bored, I can always switch it up with a BeachBody program.  As long as I follow one program consistently, I know I will see results.  (I will be undoing the damage done by being a friggin’ slug for the entire month of May.)

I am back to reminding myself BABY STEPS.  I need to make small changes.  I have to get away from the All or Nothing mindset.  That particular mindset does not serve me well.  Not one little bit.

.There Is No Such Thing

6 thoughts on “Day 149 – I Love Food, It’s As Simple As That

  1. Wow I can relate to SO much of this post! And you should applaud yourself that you can step back and look at your emotions with such a sense of calm, and peace. The fact that you log your calories, and workout daily already says that you’re making healthy choices. You’ve identified that perhaps you’re eating compulsively a little bit more these days, but make sure to love yourself and know that it’s okay to enjoy your food too. It’s hot, you’re busy, and you’re only one person. From where I stand… you’re doing great! 🙂 Continue the epic blog posts. I really enjoy reading them! Have an awesome day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I was about to say, “I am trying;” however, I am DOING! I am still working on blogging everyday. Not always successful. Therefore, it is a work in progress.

      Slow and steady will get me to my goals.

      💜💜

      Liked by 2 people

    • I am trying! Some days are easier than others. You’re right, I probably will look back and laugh. There have been so many things which have happened over the years where I have done exactly that. 🙂

      I love to follow you, as well! I am anxiously awaiting the day when I can hear you, too!

      ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. BABY STEPS! We got this! We can do this, I love food too, and you make me realize a good point – I was told it’s binge eating, with me, but what if it is compulsive over eating – how do we go about fixing this? What are our next steps in our journey??

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

