Day 288 – Monday . . .

monday-dont-let-it-weigh-you-down

Ahh, Monday, how I despise thee!  The weekend went by way too fast.  Going in an hour earlier is not getting any easier. Mondays seem to find me dragging my behind more than usual!

The time change is in 12 days.  Life will suck even worse!  Everything will happen in the dark.  The sun will not be rising until almost 0900 and will be setting by 1630.  I suppose it really shouldn’t matter since the only time I am really outside is when I am walking the dogs or cutting my grass.

Even though this is Monday, it has been a decent day.  I slept like shit last night.  I did not want to get up early.  Because of my choice to sleep longer, I ran behind on everything.  It takes so bloody long to get moving these days.  However, the pups and I did get our walk in.  I may not have worked out . . . again, but I shall not beat myself up over it.  I am pushing myself harder on the walks.

I feel the ‘running’ app is helping.  It is pushing me to pick up my pace.  The warm-ups are five minutes.  Then I walk for 10 to 15 minutes, speed up for 5 to 7 minutes, walk again, speed up again and then cool down.  The other thing helping me is my “Walking Motivation Playlist.”  It is comprised of cadences performed by US Marine Drill Instructors.  Workout to the Running Cadences U.S. Marines Vol. 2 and Run to Cadence U.S. Marines Volume 1 are in constant rotation.  My pace is about 16:30 minutes per mile.  When I first started, I was sitting around 19:13 minutes per mile.  So, it is helping.

I have not taken my measurements this week.  I will do that on Thursday.  However, I will say I noticed the slacks I was wearing today seemed a smidge looser.  I am REALLY hoping it is not my imagination!  I am also hoping that if the numbers have not budged, I will not become too discouraged.  If I do, there is the potential for me to say “forget it!” and stop working toward my goals.  It is a failing of mine.  It sucks.

So for today, I am going to take the little WIN and run with it!

dont-know-if-my-pants-are-feeling-loose

Leave a Reply

