Death and Loss

in-the-end-these-things-matter-most

I know it has been a while since I was last here.  Things have been going well for the most part. I will be back with a run down at a later time. For now, I share this . . .

This morning I received a text from a friend of mine telling me one of our co-workers passed away on Saturday morning.

This woman was so incredibly strong.  She had been through so much in her brief 55 years.  According to what she shared, she should have died at least seven different times.  She was that much of a fighter.  Each time she came back stronger than ever.  Sadly, she lost the fight.  As she lay in her hospital bed, she sent the following email:

It has bee a pleasure working for ***************** for 31.5 years.  I wish this was a “Happy Retirement” email, but alas it is an “I will meet you on the other side” email.

At this time, I have lost my battle to cancer.  There was so much cancer in my lungs, blood clots, and infection that I could not fight it.  Not that I didn’t try.

Please keep my family in your prayers.

Thank you for your friendship over the years.  It has been awesome knowing you all.  God bless and keep you.

She was so energetic and full of life.  She did manage to fight it off long enough to see her most recent grandchild being born.  She stopped by our office not even two weeks ago!  My heart breaks for her family.

Now she soars above, keeping watch over all of her loved ones.

Life is so precious.  Life is so short.  Tomorrow is never promised.

Just last week, there was a horrendous crash about a half mile from my mom’s house.  A pickup truck was heading east.  A stolen SUV, traveling at more than 100 miles per hour was heading south.  The force of the impact split the pickup truck in half.  The 62 year old driver was killed from the impact.

Just thinking about it gives me chills.  My mother drives that way.  Occasionally, she even ventures out in the later afternoon.  The accident happened at approximately 1540 EST.  Traffic was blocked off for one mile in the north and south bound lanes.  The driver had done heroine earlier in the day.  The SUV was stolen.  Senseless.  That, very easily, could have been my mother.

A friend of mine knew the man who was killed.  She said he always seemed so happy-go-lucky.  In other words, another gentle soul taken way too soon.

I hate to lose.  I hate to lose friends and loved ones even more.

O Loving Father and Savior, send your angels to carry the soul of your servant from this earth to the heavenly place of eternal and everlasting life. Let family and friends who have passed before in faith be reunited in joy with the departed. Forgive any wrongs that have been committed and welcome this beloved spirit into the warm embrace of your unending peace. Amen.

dont-wait-until-its-too-late

4 thoughts on “Death and Loss

    • Thank you. Losing a loved one or losing a friend does not seem to matter when it comes to loss. It is painful regardless.

      Some people find it hard to get through the pain. Some internalize it. Some people find they cannot seem to move forward because of the pain. They dwell in their loss.

      For me, I shed my tears of loss. Then, I search for and bring forth my memories of my loved one. I celebrate their life. I give thanks for being blessed to have my loved one for as long as I did. Music. I listen to A LOT of music during my grieving.

      I pray those who have lost someone are able to find Peace . . .

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

