Days 41 and 42 – The Weekend of Ups and Downs

Focus on Losing

I have switched things up and make Saturdays my Rest Days.  I will workout Sunday through Friday.  This will work best for me.  This way I will be able to focus on spending quality time with the hubby AND not stress on the fact he is home ‘invading’ my ‘Me Time’.

I spent Friday night alone.  On Saturday, after the hubby arrived home, we went for our tax appointment.  The man who does our taxes certainly earned his fee this year!  Our appointment was at 1300.  We didn’t get finished until almost 1800!  It was a bloody nightmare.  Between the Federal Government, the State of Indiana and the State of Michigan, we ended up with our worst year ever!

Thankfully, it was a beautifully gorgeous day.  I was able to take the puppies for a 2.3 mile walk before our appointment.  Today, the morning was a bit brisk but definitely gorgeous.  I ‘tricked’ the puppies on our walk today.  We started at the other end of the trail.  In their minds, this was a whole new place!  I love their excitement and enthusiasm!

After our appointment, we walked across the street to our favorite greasy spoon diner.  Even though I ordered the appetizer platter, I did not eat a lot of what was on it.  (Well, I did demolish like four of the mushrooms.  :-))  I cut off a piece of the chicken strip and only had one onion ring.  I filled up on the garden salad that came with my Mushroom Ravioli in Alfredo Sauce entree.  By the time the entree arrived, I could only manage to eat two of the six raviolis.  🙂  Any other time, I would have devoured it all.  Baby Steps!

Today is a completely different story.  We went to a birthday party for the daughter of one of my childhood friend’s.  He and his husband always put out a tremendously awesome spread.  There is always a crap-ton of food left over.  I brought the hubby with me and he walked away with his meals for the whole week!  Yes, there was that much food and still even more left over!

Anyway, I sampled just about everything they had.  I am definitely over-full.  Each small spoonful adds up to me going way over my caloric allotment for the day.  However, I am NOT going to beat myself up for it, though.  I will put my shoes on, lace them up, drag out my equipment and work my ass off.  The 2015 and older version of me would use this as an excuse to go off on a tangent and eat whatever the hell she felt like.  The 2016 Version of Me is going to work all that much hard to ensure there is no back-sliding.  I CAN DO THIS!

At work, I have joined a weight loss support group.  They are doing some kind of 8 week long challenge.  The challenge involves keeping track of weight lost, water drank, exercising, not eating sugar and a couple of other variables.  At the end of the 8 weeks, whoever lost the greatest percentage will split the pot (there is a fee to enter the challenge) with the person with the most total weekly points.  I am not going to participate.

I have decided to not participate because I do not feel this type of challenge will benefit me.  As a fact, I feel it could even derail any little successes I have achieved thus far.  I know I am not mentally ready for this type of challenge.  I am too new at this point on my journey.  If I feel I am not ‘winning’ or I have fallen behind, I will do one of two things:  (1) just stop.  I will say ‘fuck it’ and a shit-ton of negative self-talk.  And, (2) I will take extreme measures to ensure I remain on top.  Neither are healthy options.

I have to work on ME first.  I have to be comfortable being my own competition FIRST before I can even consider entering a challenge with others.  I know this is the ONLY way I will be successful on my journey.

This weekend has given me some ups:  time with my hubby, time with my childhood friends, and beautiful weather.  And it has given me some downs:  overindulgence on food and owe money to Federal and one State.  Overall, my ups most definitely outweigh my downs!

I will say Days 41 and 42 are complete successes!

Good Things Come.jpg

5 thoughts on “Days 41 and 42 – The Weekend of Ups and Downs

  1. As I was reading your post I thought that those kind of challenges are not really the best option for getting weight-loss motivation since they promote competition between people, and we know every journey’s is different. I think it’s great that you know what is beneficial for you and what isn’t. Keep going like that! 🙂

    Pol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! That was basically the conversation I was having with myself during the walk with my dogs.

      Thank you! It has taken me quite a bit of time to come to that realization. The mental really is the biggest battle . . . The hardest struggle . . . The greatest fight.

      One Baby Step at a time! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally understand about not being ready to be apart of a challenge. I couldn’t be in one now either. Mainly because I am a fierce competitor and I would “beat myself” up if I didn’t win. I stand clear of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly how I am! It’s why I have decided to stay way away from it. The more I think on it, the more I KNOW it is the best possible decision for me. 🙂 I’ve worked TOO hard to get to the place I am currently at. I cannot risk falling into the ‘crater’ that hovers ever so near all the time along this journey.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment